Mysuru Warriors Team, News, Squad & Results

Table of Contents


The Mysuru Warriors are a cricket team based in Mysore or Mysuru city and play in the Karnataka Premier League. They have been playing in the KPL since the inaugural edition, and have been quite successful through the course of the KPL. He has won a KPL title and qualified for the semi-finals on another occasion.

He was earlier captained by the influential Karun Nair, who has played for the Indian cricket team on eight occasions. He already had players like Manish Pandey, Jagdish Suchit and Nikin Jose, later making their debut at KPL with the franchise at the age of 15. He was under the captaincy of Sunil Raju in the absence of Karun Nair, as he was playing for the India Green team in the previous edition.


The team is owned by N. Ranga Rao & Sons Private Limited. Ltd., a manufacturer of bicycle pure agarbattis, later also sponsors the Karnataka Premier League. He has the motto “Datta nade, sphutta guri” which translates to “strong steps towards the goal”.

The team has worked in the Indian Premier League with players like Shreyas Gopal, J Suchit and Shivil Kaushik, while players like Sunil Raju and Arjun Hoysala have considerable experience in first-class cricket. Mysuru Warriors have also invested in ‘Game Ready’, a compression cold therapy compression system ‘aimed at speeding up recovery through cryotherapy. With matches taking place over a short period of time, therapy can give players an edge during matches.

Prominent Achievements

The Mysore Warriors have won the Karnataka Premier League title in the 2014–15 season, where they made a spectacular season round with an equally exciting nail-biting finish in the finals. In the final, he defeated the Belagavi Panthers by 6 wickets with just one ball remaining.

He topped the table in the 2016–17 season, winning all 7 of his matches, but lost his semi-final match against Bellary Tuskers in a surprising turn of events.

Career Trajectory of the Team

In the first two seasons of KPL, he was eliminated from the semifinals, finishing 5th and 6th respectively in 2009-10 and 2010-11. However, since the league’s reinstatement in 2014, they have been more successful, winning the first title since the league’s reinstatement.

He had a rare poor showing in the 2015–16 edition, where he finished 7th, although he again finished 5th in the final edition of the KPL. They did really well in the 2016–17 season, but were eliminated in the semi-finals.

Year Final Position Captain Highest Scorer Highest Wicket-taker Win %
2017 5th Cap. Suneel Raju SN Raju (142 runs) VV Kumar (10 wickets) 50
2016 Semifinalists N/A RR Bhatkal (323 runs) J Suchith (15 wickets) 100
2015 7th Cap. Manish Pandey A Arjun Hoysala (268 runs) J Suchith (11 wickets) 28.57
2014 1st N/A SA Bhavane (307 runs) J Suchith (16 wickets) 75
2010 6th N/A NS Bhille (138 runs) CS Raghavendra (9 wickets) 42.85
2009 5th Cap. C Raghu HTS Rao (248 runs) C Raghu (10 wickets) 42.85