Karnataka Premier League 2019 | KPL News & Updates

KPL 2019

August 16, 2019 to September 1st, 2019

The Karnataka Premier League (KPL) is a T20 cricket tournament based on the format of the Indian Premier League with some changes. The Karnataka Premier League is administered by the Karnataka State Cricket Association, which modeled the league in 2008, which was later approved by the BCCI to become the first local cricket league in India.

There have been eight editions of KPL so far, with the latest season of 2018 ending. Karnataka teams have a large pool of raw talent, from where prestigious leagues like the IPL pick their strongest players each season. It is clear that at least 13–16 players from Karnataka play in the Indian Premier League every season.

KPL History

The previous versions of KPL have been well received by the fans and hence KPL 2019 is expected to be grand. The first edition of KPL was played in 2009 where Provident Bangalore won the league’s inaugural season by defeating the Belagavi Panthers. In the second season held in 2010, Provident Bangalore once again made it to the finals but could not retain their title as they lost to Mangalore United. However, three teams (Provident Bangalore, Bangalore Brigadiers and Shamanur Davangere Diamonds) deteriorated after this season due to various issues with the KSCA and the league could not see its next edition until 2014.

The third edition of the Karnataka Premier League was held in 2014, which saw only 7 teams and was won by the Mysuru Warriors who defeated the Belagavi Panthers in the final. In the 2015 season, a new team (Namma Shivamogga) made its debut and it was won by the Bijapur Bulls as they defeated the Hubli Tigers in the final. In the fifth season ended in 2016, the Hubli Tigers again tried unsuccessfully to win the title after showing a great gameplay throughout the tournament. He was defeated by Bellary Tuskers who won their inaugural title.

In the sixth season, the Belagavi Panthers won their first title, as they defeated the Bijapur Bulls. Another team (Rockstar) was deteriorating this season. The Bijapur Bulls won their second title in 2018, becoming the first team to win the KPL twice.

Also see – KPL 2019 Auction

KPL 2019 – Format

The tournament is a round robin tournament, with each team playing once, before the top 4 teams qualify for the playoffs. The matches are held in three cities of Karnataka, i.e. Bengaluru (M.Chinnaswamy Stadium), Hubli (KSCA Rajnagar Stadium) and Mysore (Srikanthadatta Narasimha Raja Wadeyar Ground). On weekdays, one match starts from 1900 IST whereas on weekends two matches start at 1500 IST and 1900 IST respectively.

KPL 2019 – Teams

The seven KPL teams participating in the seventh season of KPL are the same as last season. The Hubli Tigers, Bijapur Bulls, Belagavi Panthers, Mysuru Warriors, Bellary Tuskers and Bengaluru Blasters are the six sides participating in this season’s competition. The seventh side is the Shivamoga Lions who changed their name from Namma Shivamogga.

KPL 2019 – schedule

The inaugural match of the KPL 2019 schedule is to take place on 16 August 2019, where the Bangalore Blasters will play with the Mysore Warriors in Bengaluru. The final is scheduled to be held in Mysore on 1 September 2019.